Nanstallon Pre-school


EYFS Framework

The EYFS Framework exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS.  In 2012 the framework was revised to make it clearer and easier to use, with more focus on the things that matter most.

It sets out:

  • The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep children safe and promote their welfare.
  • The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge
  • Assessments that will tell parents about their child’s progress through the EYFS.

The EYFS is divided into two areas, Prime areas, which begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences, and run through and support learning in all other areas.

Prime areas

The Prime areas continue to be essential throughout the whole E.Y.F.S.

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development: Making relationships, Self-confidence and self-awareness, Managing feelings and behaviour.
  • Communication and Language: Listening and attention, Understanding, Speaking.
  • Physical Development: Moving and handling, Health and self-care.

Specific Areas

The Specific Areas include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society.  They grow out of the Prime areas and provide important contexts for learning.

  • Literacy: Reading, Writing.
  • Mathematics: Numbers, Shape, space and measure.
  • Understanding the World: People and communities, The world, Technology.
  • Expressive Arts and Design: Exploring and using media and materials, Being imaginative.

Together these 7-areas are used to plan the child’s learning and activities.   We will make sure that the activities are suited to a child’s unique needs. Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

Four-themes in the EYFS

There are 4-themes in the EYFS.

  • A Unique Child:
  • Positive Relationships:
  • Enabling Environments:
  • Learning and Development:

Characteristics of Effective Learning

There are 3-characteristics of Effective Learning:

  • Playing and Exploring: Finding out and exploring, Playing with what they know, Being willing to ‘have a go’.
  • Active Learning: Being involved and concentrating, Keeping trying, Enjoying achieving what they set out to do.
  • Creating and Thinking Critically: Having their own ideas, Making links, Choosing ways to do things.